ray crawford ipswich town record goalscorer with ted phillips

Ipswich Town is a club that has had more than their fair share of ups and downs over the years. In recent decades they have featured in all three of English football’s top divisions.

Throughout the Tractor Boys’ existence, they have had players who have had an eye for goal. However, who have been the most prolific players in the Suffolk club’s history?

Ray Crawford (218 goals in 354 appearances)

The striker enjoyed two prolific spells for Town. His first spell with the club came between 1958 and 1963, and his second between 1966 and 1969. Over his two periods with the club, Crawford scored 218 goals in 354 appearances in all competitions.

His goals have played a big part in Ipswich’s history. They helped the club win the First Division title in 1962, and he finished as the division’s joint-top goalscorer with 33 goals.

Crawford had already helped Town win the Second Division crown in the previous year, having also been the top marksman in the second tier.

The forward played a crucial part in Ipswich winning the Second Division title in season 1967/68.

John Wark (190 goals in 678 appearances)

The Scottish international midfielder represented Ipswich in three different spells, scoring a respectable 190 goals in 678 competitive appearances.

Wark established himself as a top-level footballer in his first spell with the club from 1974 until 1984. During this spell, the Tractor Boys finished as First Division runners-up on two occasions and third place twice.

However, the most significant achievements of his Ipswich career were winning the FA Cup in 1978 and the UEFA Cup in 1981. In the latter, he also won the competition Golden Boot.

Wark returned to Ipswich in 1991 and ended his career in 1997. During this spell, Ipswich won promotion to the First Division in season 1991/92.

In 2007, Wark confirmed his place as an Ipswich legend by being inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame.

Ted Phillips (181 goals in 295 appearances)

Phillips represented Ipswich with distinction from 1954 until 1964, scoring an impressive 181 goals in 295 appearances for the Tractor Boys.

The forward was a teammate of Ray Crawford, so he won both the Second and First Division titles with Ipswich. However, Phillips was also part of the Tractor Boys team that won the Third Division South in season 1956/57.

Phillips also went on to play for Leyton Orient, Luton Town, and Colchester United. He will undoubtedly always be best remembered for his highly successful spell in Suffolk.

Tom Garneys (143 goals in 273 appearances)

Garneys moved to Ipswich from Second Division Brentford in 1951. He went on to enjoy a prolific run of form in Suffolk, scoring 143 goals in 273 appearances until he was forced to retire in 1958 due to a back problem.

It was an important period in the club’s history, as they twice won the Third Division during his time with the Suffolk outfit.

His goalscoring prowess was illustrated by the fact that he got into double figures in all seven of his full seasons with the club.

Paul Mariner (135 goals in 339 appearances)

The well-travelled centre-forward featured for Ipswich from 1976–1984 before a switch to Arsenal. Mariner played alongside Wark in the team that won the FA Cup in the season 1977/78 and the UEFA Cup in 1980/81.

On an individual basis, Mariner won the First Division Player of the Year in season 1980-81. In recognition of his contribution to Ipswich, he was inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame in 2011.

Trevor Whymark (104 goals scored in 335 appearances)

The striker started his professional career with Ipswich in 1969 and scored 104 for the Tractor Boys before his exit in 1979 when he joined Derby County after a brief loan spell at Dutch club Sparta Rotterdam.

Whymark won the Texaco Cup with Ipswich in 1973. However, he finished as a runner-up in the 1978 Charity Shield. He also missed the 1978 FA Cup final through injury, as his team lifted the trophy.

In 2012, Whymark joined former teammates Wark and Mariner in the Ipswich Hall of Fame in 2012.

Eric Gates (96 goals in 396 appearances)

The north east forward spent from 1973 until 1985 with the Tractor Boys, accruing 396 appearances and scoring 96 goals. He left the club in 1985 for a spell with Sunderland before finishing his career at Carlisle United.

Gates was part of the Ipswich team that won the UEFA Cup in 1981 and was inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame in 2012 alongside Trevor Whymark. Unfortunately for the forward, he wasn’t part of the 1978 squad that lifted the FA Cup.

Alan Brazil (80 goals in 210 appearances)

The Scottish forward joined Ipswich from Celtic Boys Club in 1977 and played for the Suffolk club until 1983 when he joined Tottenham Hotspur following a short loan spell at USA outfit Detroit Express on loan.

Brazil won the FA Cup with the club in 1977/78 and was part of the team that triumphed in the 1980/81 UEFA Cup.

The forward won the Ipswich Town Player of the Year award in season 1981/82. He was also inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame in 2013.

Jason Dozzell (72 goals in 414 appearances)

The midfielder came through the club’s youth system, representing the Tractor Boys from 1983 until 1993, when he joined Tottenham Hotspur. He also had a short loan spell back in Suffolk in 1997, making just eight appearances.

Dozzell’s biggest achievement with Ipswich was helping the team win the Second Division title in 1991/92. He was inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame in 2015, joining the majority of the players on our list.