Tottenham Hotspur

Tottenham Hotspur are a historic English football club founded way back in 1882. Since then, the north London club have won numerous trophies.

They are one of only six clubs who have been ever present in the English top flight since its rebranding from the English First Division to the Premier League in 1992.

When was the last time Spurs won the league title?

Despite being an ever-present in the English top flight in the new era, Tottenham have never been crowned champions of England since the Premier League began.

There have been some near misses along the way, but they have never quite gotten over the line when sealing the title.

When were the Lilywhites last champions of England?

Although Tottenham have picked up a decent amount of silverware in their history, the team from north London have won the English top-flight title on just two occasions in seasons 1950/51 and 1960-61.

The first time they were champions

Tottenham claimed their maiden First Division title in the 52nd season of the English top-flight in season 1950/51. It was the second straight successful season for Spurs, as the year before, they had also been crowned as Second Division champions.

It was a rare achievement for a promoted team to win the First Division title in their first season in the English top flight.

Spurs won the title by collecting 60 points, finishing four points ahead of second-place Manchester United.

The key to the title triumph was their attacking play, as they finished the season as the highest scorers in the division, firing home an impressive 82 league goals.

Spurs enjoyed some excellent wins during the campaign, including hammering Newcastle United 7-1, battering Stoke City 6-1 and beating West Brom 5-0.

Finding success under the great Bill Nicholson

Tottenham claimed their second and last English top-flight title back in season 1960/61 under the great Scottish manager Bill Nicholson.

Spurs coasted to the title, finishing eight points clear of their closest rivals, Sheffield Wednesday. Once again, their attacking prowess was the key to their triumph, as the north London outfit scored a league-high of 115 goals.

The team’s top goalscorer in the title-winning campaign was legend Bobby Smith, who fired home 33 goals. The Yorkshire-born centre-forward would score an impressive 176 goals in 271 appearances for Spurs in the English top-flight.

Future club legend Jimmy Greaves was the division’s top scorer with 41 goals in 40 games in the blue of London rivals Chelsea. The former England international would later join Tottenham in season 1961/62 after a short spell with Italian giants AC Milan.

While Spurs were strong in attack, they also had an excellent defence in the campaign, as only Sheffield Wednesday conceded fewer goals than the Lilywhites.

Tottenham’s biggest win of the campaign came in a 6-0 humiliation of Birmingham City. They also hammered Aston Villa 6-2 while also claiming a thumping 5-0 win over Preston North End.

How close have Tottenham come to being champions in the Premier League era?

Unfortunately for everybody connected with the club, Tottenham has not won a title in the Premier League era.

The north London club took until season 2005/06 to even finish in the league’s top six but then produced back-to-back fifth-place finishes.

They also finished in the Premier League’s top six in 11 straight seasons from 2010 until 2020. However, Tottenham’s best spell in the run came between seasons 2015/16 and 2017/18, when they finished in third place on two occasions and achieved their highest-ever finish of second place in season 2016/2017.

In the end, Tottenham finished the latter campaign seven points adrift of London rivals and title winners Chelsea. However, that season Spurs accrued the most points they have in any Premier League campaign, claiming 86 points.

Club icons didn’t win the title with Spurs

The likes of Jimmy Greaves and Harry Kane have been heroes to not just Tottenham fans but also supporters of the England national team.

However, neither got to be champions while wearing a Tottenham shirt. In fact, Kane failed to pick up any silverware during his time in the Tottenham first-team.

Greaves did win silverware during his time with Spurs, though, winning the FA Cup twice, the European Cup Winners Cup in 1963, and the Charity Shield in 1962 and 1967.

The forward’s only league title winners medal came during his short period with Milan when he won the Serie A title.

Still challenging near the top of the Premier League

For much of the last two decades, Tottenham have been in around the top end of the Premier League table. There have certainly been some promising campaigns, and Spurs will be hoping to end that title drought in the near future.

Will Tottenham end their long English top-flight drought anytime soon?